Convicted Heavy Metal ‘Christian’ Singer Admits Being Atheist

Posted: June 19, 2014 in NEWS

Lambesis

A so-called Christian heavy metal band whose frontman was convicted of attempting to hire a hitman to murder his estranged wife has admitted that it duped fans into believing that they were Christian in order to sell their music.

“Truthfully, I was an atheist,” Tim Lambesis, the lead singer and founder of As I Lay Dying told theAlternative Press in a recent interview. “I actually wasn’t the first guy in As I Lay Dying to stop being a Christian. In fact, I think I was the third. The two who remained kind of stopped talking about it, and then I’m pretty sure they dropped it, too.”

The publication noted that his wife, Meggan, had likewise divulged in divorce papers that Lambesis had become an atheist. Lambesis, in admitting his atheism, outlined that he turned away from Christianity as he majored in religious studies while attending college through a long distance program.

“In the process of trying to defend my faith, I started thinking the other point of view was the stronger one,” he said. “I remember one Christian festival where an interviewer wanted one of the guys [in the band] to share his testimony, and he just froze up and let one of the guys who was still a Christian at the time answer the question,” Lambesis recalled. “We laughed about it afterward, but we were only laughing because it was so awkward.”

Read the rest of the article here.

Comments
  1. Dee says:

    I am not surprised in the least to find out this guy was never saved as CCM is inherently anti Christian. Rock is Satanic at its core, and I believe some of them actually are secret illuminists (from the illuminati) working to destroy Christianity!

    Some of these bands use known Satanic symbolism! LOOK IT UP! I cannot believe ANY Christian thinks otherwise who should know better! Shame on them for supporting this! I think the majority of them who like this aren’t saved either. Seriously!

    I am more surprised that this guy was willing to admit the truth to being atheist! This should serve as a wake up call to those who like CCM, but of course I know it won’t as this music has NEVER been truly about honoring God, but about fulfilling carnal impulses.

  2. […] Originally Posted by Vaneyes The OPie has a right to be suspicious of so-called Christian bands and singers. I've read/heard rumors of some, but I won't go into that. Showbiz is shobiz. Money-making and corruption don't pick certain genre. Hi Vaneyes, thanks for the comment! Concerning what you just posted, here is an interesting news story: Convicted Heavy Metal ‘Christian’ Singer Admits Being Atheist http://dorightchristians.wordpress.c…being-atheist/ […]

Leave Godly Comments

